Flash Report: Ding Swindles Nepomniachtchi In Chaotic, Spectacular Game 12

From the jaws of defeat, GM Ding Liren clutched a win over GM Ian Nepomniachtchi in the 12th game of the 2023 FIDE World Championship to bring the match right back into contention with two rounds to go.

In his second-to-last game with the white pieces and in desperate need of a full point, Ding created a tactical slugfest but Nepomniachtchi turned the tables. Moments away from all but securing the title, Nepomniachtchi imploded and allowed Ding to claw his way back to 6-6.

The 13th and penultimate game will start on Thursday, April 27, at 15:00 Astana time (2 a.m. PT/11:00 CEST).

This is a flash report. The full report including game annotations, photos, and videos will be added soon.

How to watch the 2023 FIDE World Championship

GM Rafael Leitao‘s game annotations for the crucial 12th game will be added below shortly.

You can watch video recaps of the FIDE World Championship in our playlist below (click here).

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=videoseries

Match Score






Fed Name Rtg 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09 10 11 12 13 14 Score
Ding Liren 2788 ½ 0 ½ 1 0 1 0 ½ ½ ½ ½ 1 . . 6

Ian Nepomniachtchi 2795 ½ 1 ½ 0 1 0 1 ½ ½ ½ ½ 0 . . 6

The 2023 FIDE World Championship is the most important over-the-board classical event of the year and decides who will be the next world champion. Nepomniachtchi and Ding play a match to decide who takes over Carlsen’s throne after the current world champion abdicated his title. The match has a €2 million prize fund and is played over 14 classical games; the first player to gain 7.5 points wins.


Previous Coverage


https://www.chess.com/news/view/fide-world-chess-championship-2023-game-12

Comments

comments

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top