Nepomniachtchi Holds Ding To Draw, Closes In On World Championship Title

GM Ian Nepomniachtchi moved one step closer to the world championship title on Sunday after equalizing with Black and drawing in 45 moves in the 10th game of the 2023 FIDE World Championship.

GM Ding Liren reverted to the English Opening and valiantly tried to imbalance matters, but his opponent was up to the task and exchanged into a drawn rook endgame. Nepomniachtchi, now leading 5.5-4.5, is only two points away from claiming the world championship title.

The 11th round of the world championships will continue on Monday, April 24, at 15:00 Astana time (2 a.m. PT/11:00 CEST).

This is a flash report. The full report including game annotations, videos, and photos will be added shortly.

How to watch the 2023 FIDE World Championship

GM Rafael Leitao‘s game annotations will be added shortly.

You can watch video recaps of the FIDE World Championship in our playlist below (click here). 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=videoseries

Match Score






Fed Name Rtg 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09 10 11 12 13 14 Score
Ding Liren 2788 ½ 0 ½ 1 0 1 0 ½ ½ ½ . . . . 4.5

Ian Nepomniachtchi 2795 ½ 1 ½ 0 1 0 1 ½ ½ ½ . . . . 5.5

The 2023 FIDE World Championship is the most important over-the-board classical event of the year and decides who will be the next world champion. Nepomniachtchi and Ding play a match to decide who takes over Carlsen’s throne after the current world champion abdicated his title. The match has a €2 million prize fund and is played over 14 classical games; the first player to gain 7.5 points wins.


Previous Coverage


https://www.chess.com/news/view/fide-world-chess-championship-2023-game-10

Comments

comments

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top